Projects

MFA biobased industry

Material flow analysis of the material utilisation of fossil carbon in Austria with a focus on the transformation into a bio-based industry

The aim of the project is the survey of the current material flow of carbon for material utilisation and the determination of biobased substitution options for Austria. The established fossil value chains will be interconnected to the compiled development pathways, identifying areas of a quantitative overburden of the potential biogenic resources and fields of missing substitution possibilities. The TRLs (Technology Readiness Levels) of the different substitution options will be investigated in order to estimate the progress towards a biobased industry.

Comprehensive literary and internet research will be substantiated and supplemented by expert interviews. In workshops, the current state of development of the bio-based industry and further possible substitution options will be determined. The results will be presented in an interactive process overview (petrochemical and biobased) and a material flow diagram.

The project results should contribute to develop more targeted instruments to convert material utilisation from petroleum-based to biogenic carbon sources as soon as possible in order to strengthen the biobased industry in Austria.

Project lead
scenario editor (Thomas Steffl)

Project duration
March 2017 – November 2017 (9 months)

Principal
Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology

Projekte

MFA Biobasierte Industrie

Materialflussanalyse der stofflichen Nutzung von fossilem Kohlenstoff in Österreich mit Fokus auf die Überleitung in eine flächendeckende biobasierte Industrie

Das Ziel des Projekts ist die Erfassung des derzeitigen Materialflusses von stofflich genutztem Kohlenstoff und die Ermittlung biobasierter Substitutionsoptionen in Österreich. Das ermittelte Mengengerüst der etablierten, fossilen Wertschöpfungsketten wird mit den erarbeiteten Entwicklungspfaden in Zusammenhang gebracht, wodurch Bereiche einer mengenmäßigen Überforderung der potenziellen, biogenen Ressourcen und bisher fehlende Substitutionsmöglichkeiten identifiziert werden. Die TRLs (Technology Readiness Levels)  der unterschiedlichen Substitutionsoptionen sollen untersucht werden, um den Fortschritt hin zu einer biobasierten Industrie abschätzen zu können.

Als Daten-Grundlage werden umfassende Literatur- und Internetrecherchen mit ExpertInnen-Input konkretisiert und ergänzt. In Workshops wird der aktuelle Entwicklungsstand der biobasierten Industrie ermittelt und gleichzeitig mögliche Lösungen für die Bereiche ausgearbeitet, in denen es noch keine Substitutionsoptionen gibt. Die Ergebnisse werden in einer interaktiven Prozessdarstellung (petrochemisch und biobasiert) und einem Materialflussdiagramm aufbereitet.

Die Projektergebnisse sollen dazu dienen, bestimmte Instrumente gezielter dafür einsetzen zu können, die Rohstoffnutzung baldmöglichst von erdölbasierten auf biogene Kohlenstoffquellen umzustellen um die biobasierte Industrie in Österreich zu stärken.

Projektleitung
scenario editor (Thomas Steffl)

Projektdauer
März 2017 – November 2017 (9 Monate)

Autraggeber
Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie