Objectives

Objectives

CIRCULAR ECONOMY

alchemia-nova undertakes scientific research and public relation projects aimed at developing innovative business strategies and production processes for a sustainable economy, demonstrating their viability and assisting in their implementation. High production quality and best processing measures are prerequisites for a long product life. Individual product components should be reusable or compostable which can then be fed back into the system as nutrients. In regenerative systems, nutrients are re-employed to have lasting effect. The goal is to bring about a closed cycle from raw material to a finished product, and then in turn its re-use as a source of raw materials for other products.

FROM UNIVERSE TO BIO-VERSE

The material flow of our society is shifting away from its dependence on fossil fuels towards renewable energies and renewable resources. Our principle focus is on the innovation of novel approaches to exploring and utilising the world of the molecular and technological vegetable bio-verse. This acquired knowledge is then integrated into the principles of a sustainable economy to achieve high-impact environmental and economic benefits.

BENEFITS OF PHYTOCHEMICALS

One of our research focal points is on the analysis and utilisation of organic residues and secondary plant substances. A variety of natural products are already being used as model and lead substances (pharmacological, biological and biotechnological) for medicinal agents or their precursors. The natural pattern of diversity correlates with biodiversity, that is, with the diversity of organisms and their genetic pools. The conservation of biodiversity in all of our remaining ecosystems shapes the basic prerequisites for the extraction of bio-active natural products. The use of natural structures is only possible in conjunction with the consistent conservation and sustainable use of natural resources. Biologically active natural products require careful extraction and accordingly technical processes and logistics need to be intelligently enhanced. The development of an environmentally meaningful and economically useful syntheses contributes significantly to the conservation process and the sustainable use of resources.

TRANSDISCIPLINARITY

As an independent research institute, we know the value of trans- and interdisciplinary projects capable of long-term social impact. We combine cutting-edge knowledge reaped from the various scientific disciplines to provide concrete guidance and specific applications in the agriculture, craftsmanship and other manufacturing industries. Retailers and consumers are also integrated into the knowledge transfer. The linking of structures and the recognition of interconnectedness can be used to the mutual benefit of all involved, which in turn promotes respectful collaboration. The results are a sustainable economy and a mutually beneficial environment.

INNOVATIVE TECHNOLOGIES

Many advanced technologies and innovative products are already in development, or even ready for market introduction. alchemia-nova invests great efforts on an environmental and functional level to make products from renewable raw materials which are able to compete with their petroleum-based equivalents. Project and innovation management also play an important role in the generation of new knowledge. Accordingly, we develop new process technologies and provide methods for their successful market introduction and the associated business development.

OPEN INNOVATION

In our linear society, big questions need great answers. Whereas the solutions innovated by alchemia-nova are certainly designed to achieve economic success, the ultimate goal of our investigative spirit is to generate knowledge within the public domain (commons), since it is precisely this that is necessary to overcome the problems facing our society. The patenting of living organism structures may be a possible valve of quantitative growth while eco-innovations could serve as game changing solutions for generations to come. Last but not least, it bears mention that most of the research projects are paid for by the public sector, so it is natural that results should be fed back into the public domain. Accordingly, knowledge generated by alchemia-nova is made available to those who need it, free of charge.

SOLUTIONS AND STRUCTURES

We look for new and predominantly all-encompassing solutions to structural and technical problems. We therefor seek not only to offer solutions, but also to assist in the implementation of these solutions, which may require a specialised degree of responsibility and precision. Existing structures are investigated and where necessary, new structures are provided to include all aspects of the philosophy of sustainability, innovation and the public interest. In addition to solution-oriented methodologies and structural improvements, we offer guidance and assistance in public relations and the marketing of superior quality products.

AWAKENING PUBLIC INTEREST

The planet earth is our common livelihood and a global consciousness must be awakened and strengthened by communication. In addition to knowledge sharing with research facilities and producers, the general public is engaged with and sensitised to this topic by the effective transfer of knowledge of production methods and product origin. In like manner, future generations are also reached and drawn in through the flow of information. We use traditional print, multi-media and social media to circulate our articles and furthermore advise on press conferences, speeches, presentations, symposiums and other PR activities.

DEVELOPMENT AND COOPERATION WORK

Our numerous activities require a strong network synergy. We cooperate with a large number of enterprises, institutions, political organisations and public interest groups and provide our knowledge base of development aid to disadvantaged regions and communities. In this context, bio-cascading can be extremely effective, because it is thereby possible to generate renewed value from previously declared “waste” materials. As a result, everyone can benefit from this renewed global and sustainable economy.

TEACHING & CONSULTING

Ever since foundation alchemia-nova has made every effort to disseminate state of the art, promote discourse for innovation and share noble principles. Currently we hold several courses at Universities and Technical Colleges and for that purpose, as for example “Green Products”, “Applied biological consumer goods production” and “Value chain management in food production” at FH Wiener Neustadt Campus Wieselburg (or Austrian Marketing University of Applied Life Sciences). Furthermore, we aspire to share and discuss the idea and potential of circular economy and sustainable use of resources with a broad group of stakeholders, including children and youth as well as start-up entrepreneurs.

Ziele

Ziele

Kreislaufwirtschaft

alchemia-nova betreibt wissenschaftliche Forschung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, um innovative Strategien und Produktionsverfahren für eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft zu entwickeln, vorzuzeigen und umzusetzen. Hohe Qualität und beste Verarbeitungsmaßnahmen sind Vorraussetzung für ein langes Produktleben. Die einzelnen Produktkomponenten sind wiederverwendbar oder kompostierbar und können dem System wieder als Nährstoff zugeführt werden. Nährstoffe können in regenerativen Systemen neuerlich aufgewertet werden und dauerhaft Nutzen stiften. Ziel ist ein geschlossener Kreislauf, vom Rohstoff bis zum fertigen Erzeugnis; und wiederum dessen erneute Verwendung als Rohstoffquelle für weitere Produkte.

Vom Uni-Versum zum Bio-Versum

Der Materialfluss unserer Gesellschaft befindet sich im Wandel: von der Abhängigkeit und Verwendung fossiler Ressourcen, hin zu erneuerbaren Energien und nachwachsenden Rohstoffen. Unser Fokus liegt daher auf innovativen Ansätzen, um die molekulare und technologische Welt des pflanzlichen Bio-versums zu erforschen und nutzbar zu machen. Daraus erlangte Kenntnisse können in Prinzipien einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft integriert werden und großen ökologischen und wirtschaftlichen Nutzen erzielen.

Nutzen der Pflanzenchemie

Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt von alchemia-nova ist die Analyse, Nutzbarmachung und Verwendung von organischen Reststoffen und pflanzlichen Sekundärstoffen. Eine Vielzahl von Naturstoffen finden bereits als Arzneistoffe und deren Vorstufen, Modellsubstanzen (pharmakologisch, biologisch, biotechnologisch) oder als Leitstrukturen Verwendung.
Die natürliche Strukturvielfalt korreliert mit der Biodiversität, d.h. mit der Vielfalt der Organismen und ihres genetischen Pools. Der Erhalt der Biodiversität in allen uns noch verbleibenden Ökosystemen, bildet also die Grundvoraussetzung für die Gewinnung von bioaktiven Naturstoffen. Die Nutzung natürlicher Strukturen ist nur in Verbindung mit konsequentem Naturschutz und der nachhaltigen Verwendung natürlicher Ressourcen möglich. Biologisch aktive Naturstoffe müssen mit Feingefühl extrahiert, Logistik und technische Prozesse intelligent verbessert werden. Die Entwicklung ökonomisch nutzbaren und ökologisch sinnvollen Synthesen, trägt wesentlich zum Erhalt und der nachhaltigen Nutzung der Ressourcen bei.

TRANSdisziplinARITÄT

Als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut kennen wir den Wert inter und transdisziplinärer Projekte, die auch einen langfristigen sozialen Einfluss ausstrahlen. Wir verbinden den aktuellen Stand des Wissens verschiedener naturwissenschaftlicher Disziplinen mit Anleitungen zu konkreten Anwendungen in der Landwirtschaft, handwerklichen und anderen produzierenden Betrieben. Auch Handel und Konsumenten werden in den Wissenstransfer integriert. Die Vernetzung von Strukturen und das Erkennen von Zusammenhängen können zum gegenseitigen Vorteil genutzt werden, welches eine respektvolle Zusammenarbeit fördert. Die Resultate sind eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft und ein Lebensraum von erfreulich hoher Qualität.

Innovative Technologien

Zahlreiche zukunftsweisende Technologien und innovative Produkte werden entwickelt oder befinden sich bereits im Stadium der Markteinführung. Um Produkte aus erneuerbaren Rohstoffen mit auf Erdöl basierenden Äquivalenten konkurrenzfähig zu machen, investieren wir Bemühungen auf ökologischer und funktioneller Ebene. Projekt- und Innovationsmanagement spielen eine wichtige Rolle, um neues Wissen zu generieren. Wir entwickeln neue Prozess-Technologien und stellen Methoden für eine erfolgreiche Markteinführung, sowie Methode zur Geschäftsentwicklung zur Verfügung.

Offene Innovationen

Große Fragen zu einer linearen Gesellschaft brauchen große Antworten. Die Antworten, die von alchemia-nova innoviert werden, sind auch darauf ausgelegt wirtschaftliche Erfolge zu erzielen, doch ist das Ziel dieses Forschergeists die Bereitstellung von Allgemeingut (commons), da eben genau dieses notwendig ist um Probleme einer Gesellschaft zu überwinden. Die Patentierung des Lebens ist ein mögliches Ventil des quantitativen Wachstums. Öko-Innovationen auf der anderen Seite können neue Spielregeln für kommende Generationen schaffen. Nicht zuletzt werden die meisten Forschungsprojekte von öffentlicher Hand bezahlt, also liegt es umso mehr auf der Hand die Ergebnisse auch dieser zurückzugeben. Daher tritt das Institut ein für freien Zugang des generierten Wissens, vor allem für diejenigen, die es notwendig haben.

Lösungen & Strukturen

Wir suchen nach neuen und vor allem allumfassenden Lösungen, von strukturellen bis hin zu technischen Problemstellungen. Somit werden nicht nur Lösungen angeboten, sondern auch das Umsetzen von Lösungen, welches ein besonderes Maß an Verantwortung und Feinarbeit benötigt. Vorhandene Strukturen werden untersucht und wenn nötig werden neue bereitgestellt, um alle Aspekte einer Philosophie der Nachhaltigkeit, der Innovation und des Gemeinwohls abzudecken. Einschließlich zu lösungsorientierter Arbeit und strukturellen Verbesserungen, bieten wir Assistenz in PR und Marketing von Produkten mit überdurchschnittlicher Umweltqualität sowie Beratung für Stakeholder.

Öffentliches Interesse

Der Planet Erde ist unser aller Lebensgrundlage; dieses Bewusstsein wird durch Kommunikation geweckt und gestärkt. Neben Forschungseinrichtungen und Produzenten wird auch die breite Öffentlichkeit durch Wissenstransfer über Produktionsweisen und Produktherkunft für dieses Thema sensibilisiert. Als zukünftige Generationen werden auch Kinder und Jugendliche in den Informationsfluss mit einbezogen. Wir publizieren Artikel und Bücher und produzieren andere multimediale Installationen. Wir beraten bei Pressekonferenzen, Präsentationen, Reden, Symposien und weiteren PR-Aktivitäten.

Entwicklungs- zusammenarbeit

Unsere zahlreichen Aktivitäten brauchen ein starkes Netzwerk von Synergien. Wir kooperieren mit einer großen Anzahl an Unternehmen, Institutionen, politischen und öffentlichen Interessensgruppen. Wir stellen unsere Wissensdatenbank der Entwicklungshilfe in benachteiligten Regionen zur Verfügung. In diesem Zusammenhang kann Bio-cascading äußerst effektiv angewandt werden, weil es dadurch möglich ist, einen Wert aus ehemals als “Müll” deklarierten Stoffen zu generieren. Als Resultat kann jeder von dieser weltweiten und nachhaltigen Wirtschaft profitieren.