Nature based

Phytotechnology
Phytotechnology

Phytotechnology describes the application of plant-related science and engineering to study problems and provide solutions for technical and socio-ecological challenges. As a subfield of ecotechnology it emphasizes the use of distinct plant-inherent processes within technical applications. These nature-based technologies have become alternatives to conventional technologies due to low capital costs, high success rates, low maintenance requirements, high in... Read more

Phytochemistry
GreenChem 2

Already since our predecessors, the alchemists, we know that plants can serve in many different applications. The term phytochemistry means chemistry of plants, which is a branch of chemistry and botany and is concerned with the chemical compounds and processes in plants. Compounds produced during the lifecycle of a plant can be divided into primary and secondary metabolites. Primary metabolites are important for essential functions, such as growth and... Read more

Biobased Industry
paradigm change

The biobased industry should be able to replace petrol-based industry in the upcoming years. Therefore, a set of different steps are necessary, which start with apropriate legislation, go through logistics and also need technological progress. One important puzzle stone in this context is the development of biorefineries, which need to cope with multiple biomass feedstocks.... Read more

Biocascading
Biocascading

Prolonging VAlue Chains The idea of generating valuable substances from products that supposedly reached the end of their life-cycle is not new. However, industry suppressed it for many years, as the maxim of profit maximisation has lived regardless on losses of biodiversity and whole ecosystems. Attempts to counteract start to happen again in the last years. The core idea is to see each plant as a direct supplier of valuable substances. Bio-cascading... Read more

Bioplastics
time's running

Biobased Plastics regrow year after year Around 200 million tons of petroleum-based plastic are produced every year, of which about 10 % ends up in the sea as giant sea swirls.The exact extent of the Great Pacific Garbage Patch (GPGP), the Continent of Garbage in the North Pacific, is not yet known. Researchers estimate one million floating plastic particles, weighing a total of 100 million tons, per square kilometer. The fact is that 46 kg of plastic... Read more

Biomimicry
DSCF1651

NATURE-INSPIRED SYSTEMS The term Biomimicry refers to the words bios (life) and mimesis (imitate). The idea of this new science is to use processes, forms and strategies from nature as a model in order to find solutions to human challenges . It is important to not only copy nature, but to understand the processes going on and then use this awareness accordingly. The question still remains, why contact nature? After 3.8 billion years of researching... Read more

Vertical Ecosystem
Cyperus alternifolius

Vertical constructed wetland alchemia-nova has developed several innovative phytotechnologies to the point where they can be turned into commercial products. To this end the spin-off company blue carex phytotechnologies GmbH has been established. Principal among these innovations is the building integrated vertical ecosystem, which we call vertECO®. Its main purpose is to treat and clean greywater as well as industrial wastewaters. The purified water... Read more

Cosmetics & Nutrition
Adding Value Worksheet

In the field of innovative phytochemistry, the development of cosmetics is an important part. Many ingredients in plants or residue streams from the plant processing industry can be used for effective cosmetics. The range here seems endless, dyes and important tricks to stabilize them, many natural fragrances, preservatives, ingredients against skin aging or skin tightening, to cracking and suppleness, cosmetics with cleansing properties, energized... Read more

Bio-basiert

Phytotechnologie
Phytotechnology

Phytotechnologie umfasst die Verbindung von Ingenieurwesen mit der Wissenschaft der Pflanzenchemie um technische und sozioökologische Fragestellungen zu bearbeiten. Als Teilgebiet der Umwelttechnik hebt es die Verwendung von Pflanzen und in diesen ablaufenden Prozessen in technischen Anwendungen hervor. Diese naturbasierten Technologien sind zu seriösen Alternativen für konventionelle Technologien geworden aufgrund geringer Kosten, hoher Erfolgsraten, g... Lesen Sie mehr

Vertikales Ökosystem
Cyperus alternifolius

Eine Grüne Wand als Vertikale Pflanzenkläranlage alchemia-nova entwickelte bereits diverse innovative Phytotechnologien bis zu dem Punkt des Markteintritts. Für diese Umsetzung begründete sich die blue carex phytotechnologies GmbH. Das erste Produkt bildet ein gebäude-integriertes vertikalen Ökosysteme, kurz: vertECO®. Der grundsätzliche Zweck besteht in der Reinigung und Aufbereitung von Grauwasser und Industrieabwasser, während es... Lesen Sie mehr

Biobasierte Industrie
paradigm change

Die biobasierte Industrie soll in kommenden Jahren eine erdölbasierte Industrie ersetzen können. Dazu sind viele verschiedene Schritte notwendig, die von legislativen über logistischen, sowie technologischen Maßnahmen geprägt sind. Ein wichtiger Baustein in diesem Zusammenhang ist die Entwicklung von Bioraffinerien, die mit einer Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Biomassen umgehen kann.... Lesen Sie mehr

Biocascading
Biocascading

Verlängerung von Wertschöpfungsketten Die Idee der Generierung von Wertstoffen aus Produkten, die vermeintlich das Ende ihres Lebenszyklus erreicht haben, ist nicht neu. Sie wurde allerdings viele Jahre von der Industrie verdrängt, da die Maxime der Gewinnmaximierung ohne Rücksicht auf Verluste an Biodiversität und ganzen Ökosystemen gelebt wurde. Die Idee der Generierung von Wertstoffen aus Produkten, die vermeintlich das Ende ihres Lebenszyklus... Lesen Sie mehr

Biokunststoffe
time's running

Biobasierte Kunststoffe wachsen nach Jährlich werden etwa 200 Millionen Tonnen erdölbasiertes Plastik hergestellt. Bis zu 10% davon landen früher oder später im Meer und sammeln sich in riesigen Meeresstrudeln. Das genaue Ausmaß des Great Pacific Garbage Patch (GPGP), dem Müllkontinent des nördlichen Pazifiks ist noch nicht bekannt. Forscher schätzen pro Quadratkilometer eine Million schwimmende Kunststoffteilchen mit einem Gesamtgewicht von 100... Lesen Sie mehr

Biomimicry
DSCF1651

NATUR-INSPIRIERTE SYSTEME Der Begriff Biomimicry leitet sich aus den Wörtern bios(Leben) und mimesis (Nachahmung) her.Die Idee dieser neuen Wissenschaft handelt davon, Prozesse, Formen und Strategien der Natur als Model für Lösungen menschlicher Herausforderungen heranzuziehen . Wichtig ist dabei, nicht einfach nur die Natur zu kopieren, sondern den Vorgang dahinter zu verstehen und diese Erkenntnis schließlich entsprechend anzuwenden.Nun stellt... Lesen Sie mehr

Grüne Chemie
GreenChem 2

Grüne Chemie (engl. Green/Sustainable Chemistry) ist der Beitrag der Chemie Ressourcen zu schonen bzw. Umweltbelastung zu verhindern. So widmet sie sich der Erforschung und dem Einsatz von unbedenklichen Produktmaterialien und Verfahren, bezogen auf Gesundheit und Umwelt. Zudem ist es ihr Ziel, die Verwendung und Generierung von gefährlichen Inhaltsstoffen zu minimieren. Sie wird daher auch als Nachhaltige Chemie bezeichnet. Alchemia-nova forscht... Lesen Sie mehr

Kosmetika & Ernährung
Adding Value Worksheet

Für den Bereich der innovativen Phytochemie, liegen kosmetische Anwendungen auf der Hand. Zahlreiche Inhaltsstoffe in Pflanzen oder Reststoffströmen aus der pflanzen-verarbeitenden Industrie können für wirksame Kosmetik genutzt werden. Die Palette scheint hierzu schier endlos, Farbstoffe und wichtige Tricks diese zu stabilisieren, zahlreiche natürliche Duftstoffe, Konservierungsmittel, Wirkstoffe gegen Hautalterung oder für Hautstraffung, gegen... Lesen Sie mehr