Circular economy

Cradle to Cradle
C2C loops

THE NEXT INDUSTRIAL REVOLUTION The revolutionary Cradle to Cradle® (C2C) concept was originally instituted by the chemist and process engineer Prof. Dr. Michael Braungart and architect William McDonough. In Europe this visionary application started with EPEA Environmental Protection Encouragement Agency GmbH in Hamburg. alchemia-nova is an official partner institute from EPEA. Products that are designed and produced according to these principles... Read more

Resource recovery
Treibacher

Resource recovery is defined by the extraction of elements from discarded materials for a particular next use. Known applications include composting, recycling or energy generation. This way the maximum benefits may be extracted from products and the amount of generated waste reduced (less landfill disposal) or even impeded. One possible methodology to explore a products improvement opportunities is the Life Cycle Analysis (LCA) an important concept in... Read more

Systems Thinking
Systems thinking

GET THE FULL PICTURE The Circular Economy concept is largely based on a systemic or holistic thinking approach. Processes that are inherent in and across systems as well as their relation are understood as a whole. This holistic approach demands for a certain methodological transdisciplinarity in research practice. Transdisciplinarity in this sense is more than a simple exchange between research disciplines (interdisciplinarity) and demonstrates the... Read more

Industrial symbiosis
Industrial Symbiosis

RESIDUAL STREAMS OF ONE INDUSTRY ARE NUTRIENTS FOR THE OTHER „Industry and industrial processes act as converter of natural resources into products and services. Industry has an impact on environmental pollution throughout the whole life cycle of a product”. In order to ensure industrial sustainability one concept of industrial ecology is industrial symbiosis . Industrial symbiosis shall demonstrate the analogy to ecological systems, where symbiosis... Read more

Regenerative Agriculture
Kirschblüte

FARMING PRACTICES THAT CREATE ECOSYSTEMS Using agricultural methods to get carbon dioxide from the atmosphere back to the soil is known under the term regenerative agriculture . Restorative agriculture is used to build up organic material and revive biodiversity in the soil. In order to achieve this, methods, that support the soil microbiome, reduce input and output of nutrients and enhance growth of plants, are used accordingly to surrounding... Read more

Sustainable Building
Saloniki house

The term Sustainable or Green Building primarily describes a high resource efficiency of buildings in regard of energy, water and materials throughout a building’s life-cycle (planning, construction/renovation, operation, maintenance, demolition). Sustainable Building is mostly associated with utilization of corresponding construction materials. These may consider aspects of gases liberation and indoor air quality, even removal of airborne pollutants.... Read more

Economy for the common good
Economy for the common good

BETTER THAN MORE Economy for the common good is an alternative economic system built on common good-enhancing values. This economy is a tool for economic, political and social level – a bridge to a better future. In economic terms, it is a livable, workable concrete option for companies of different sizes and legal forms. The purpose of economic activity and the assessment of the companies’ success can be defined in terms of public welfare –... Read more

Kreislaufwirtschaft

Cradle to Cradle
C2C loops

DIE NÄCHSTE INDUSTRIELLE REVOLUTION Das revolutionäre Cradle to Cradle® (C2C) Konzept wurde vom Chemiker und Prozessingenieur Prof. Dr. Michael Braungart und dem Architekten William McDonough ins Leben gerufen. In Europa hat diese Vision Anwendung gefunden über die EPEA Internationale Umweltforschung GmbH in Hamburg. alchemia-nova ist offizielles Partnerinstitut von EPEA. Produkte, die nach diesen Prinzipien entworfen und produziert werden dienen... Lesen Sie mehr

Ressourcen-rückgewinnung
GreenChem 2

Ressourcenrückgewinnung ist ein Konzept demzufolge bestimmte Materialien aus vermeintlichem Abfall wiedergewonnen werden, um sie einem neuen Nutzen zuzuführen. Kompostierung, Recycling oder Ressourcenextraktion zur Energiegewinnung sind bekannte Beispiele. Auf diesem Wege soll die Ressourceneffizienz von bestehenden Produkten maximiert, sowie die Entstehung von Abfall reduziert bzw. sogar verhindert werden. Eine Methode, die bei der... Lesen Sie mehr

Systemdenken
Systems thinking

EIN VOLLSTÄNDIGES BILD MACHEN Dem Prinzip der Kreislaufwirtschaft liegt eine systemische oder ganzheitliche Denk- und Betrachtungsweise zugrunde. Systemimmanente und -übergreifende Prozesse und deren Beziehungen zueinander werden als Ganzes begriffen und verlangen schließlich in der wissenschaftlichen Praxis nach einer gewissen methodischen Transdisziplinarität. Transdisziplinarität geht dabei über den einfachen Austausch zwischen den Disziplinen... Lesen Sie mehr

Industrielle Symbiose

DIE RESTSTOFFE DER EINEN INDUSTRIE SIND DIE NÄHRSTOFFE DER ANDEREN „Die Industrie und industrielle Prozesse agieren als Umwandler natürlicher Ressourcen in Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Von der Entstehung bis zur Entsorgung beeinflusst die Industrie die Umweltbelastung eines Produkts und seiner Nutzung“. Um industrielle Nachhaltigkeit zu gewährleisten gilt das Konzept der industriellen Symbiose als einer der Eckpfeiler industrieller Ökologie .... Lesen Sie mehr

Regenerative Landwirtschaft

LANDWIRTSCHAFT BETREIBEN UND ÖKOSYSTEME SCHAFFEN Unter regenerativer Landwirtschaft werden Agrarmethoden verstanden, die Kohlenstoff aus der Atmosphäre wieder zurück in den Boden bringen . Mit restorativer Landwirtschaft wird organisches Material im Boden aufgebaut und die Biodiversität des Bodens erhöht. Um dies zu erreichen werden für jeden Standort mit seinen spezifischen Eigenschaften verschiedene Kombinationen von Methoden ausgewählt,... Lesen Sie mehr

Nachhaltiges Bauen
gugler house

Der Begriff “Nachhaltiges/Grünes Bauen” (engl. Sustainable/Green Building) bezeichnet primär eine hohe Ressourceneffizienz von Gebäuden bezogen auf Energie, Wasser und Materialien auf sämtliche Phasen des Gebäude-Lebenszyklus (Planung, Konstruktion/Sanierung, Betrieb, Wartung, Demontage). Schon bei der Wahl der Baumaterialien kann auf bestimmte Baustoffe zurückgegriffen werden, die den Grundprinzipien des Nachhaltigen Bauens entsprechen. Diese... Lesen Sie mehr

Gemeinwohlökonomie

BESSER ALS MEHR Gemeinwohl-Ökonomie bezeichnet ein alternatives Wirtschaftssystem, das auf gemeinwohl-fördernden Werten aufgebaut ist. Gemeinwohl-Ökonomie ist ein Veränderungshebel auf wirtschaftlicher, politischer und gesellschaftlicher Ebene – eine Brücke von Altem zu Neuem. Auf wirtschaftlicher Ebene ist sie eine lebbare, konkret umsetzbare Alternative für Unternehmen verschiedener Größen und Rechtsformen. Der Zweck des Wirtschaftens und... Lesen Sie mehr